Shahane Hakobyan

Meet graphic design and illustration student Shahane Hakobyan.

Shahane has lived in cities across the globe. ‘I am originally from Yerevan in Armenia,’ she says. ‘Throughout my life, I have had the wonderful experience of having lived and grown up in many different countries and becoming part of their cultures, traditions and lifestyles.’ Having lived everywhere from St Petersburg to Dubai and Paris, Shahane is currently based in London.

Read on to find out more…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently living in London which has been a great experience for me and is the place where I wish to stay and further my career. I am studying Graphic and Media Design Illustration at the London College of Communication. I like to work in an experimental style as an image and print-maker.

What inspires your work?

My inspirations come from the people and cultural situations I relate back to from my travels: the processes I work in, the merging of my thoughts with my movements. Also the expressionists and abstract expressionists, whose work have greatly inspired me.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite work is a print I created called XY which is a merging together of Photoshop and printmaking. The texture is created using letterpress woodblocks and later layered and slightly adjusted in photoshop. I enjoy experimentation in letterpress and creating new textures and forms through the use of simple materials and combinations. Putting these handmade prints into Photoshop creates a new life to the original piece and the possibilities of mixing multidisciplines is something I am very interested in.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite creative is and always has been Egon Schiele. Although not directly connected to much of the work I am producing at the moment, Schiele is the main reason I began to appreciate and truly understand the power of art. His emotional drawings and paintings have such energy and life as well as a tendency to seem spontaneous and unrefined, which is something I can relate to. I wish to someday create the same level of emotion as he does in his work, but through more abstract forms.

Read Shahane’s blog and find out more about her work here; follow her on Twitter – @ShahaneHakobyan.

All images © Shahane Hakobyan. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

