Rachel Elsome

Meet illustrator Rachel Elsome.

Rachel will be very shortly graduating with a degree in Illustration from The Arts University College at Bournemouth, where she was taught by industry experts Salvatore Rubbino and Joel Lardner.

And when she’s not illustrating? “I spend a lot of time surrounded by books in Waterstones,” says Rachel. “And I think I have an addiction to peppermint tea!”

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently based in beautiful Dorset. I love maps, and getting letters in the post. My work primarily centres around children’s narrative, and is influenced by the everyday with a hint of magic and the fantastical. I use a combination of drawing and printmaking in my images, then give them a good clean and tidy in Photoshop.

What are your inspirations?

I am inspired by my surroundings and in particular the people in it. Simply the way someone moves can spark an idea. Drawing the passers by is, for me, one of the most enjoyable ways to spend my time.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

The work that I am most proud of is my most recent picture book, The Letter. It follows the journey of a red enveloped letter, being sent from Harry and his dog Neville to their Grampa, all the way from England to France. But the journey is not without its glitches: dropped by the postman, buried in the garden of Bruno the Boxer, and flown over seas by Pascal the Parrot, the letter’s journey isn’t an easy one.

I had so much fun working on this project. There is something so thrilling about putting a story down onto paper for another to read, interpret and get excited about.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

At the moment I am loving the work of Alexandra Ball, and Catherine Reiner is an all time favourite, both work beautifully with colour.

Visit Rachel’s blog and website, and follow her on Twitter: @RachelElsome.

All images © Rachel Elsome. To view the designs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

