Stephen Gallacher

This is film-maker Stephen Gallacher.

Stephen has a bucket list which he’s currently working his way through: ‘one of the things on it is skydiving, which I’m doing in a few weeks!’ he says. He also loves board sports, wants to go travelling and, when not working on them, enjoys discussing films.

Stephen’s dream? ‘I’d love to travel with my friends whilst touring one of my own films in several different festivals. That would be ideal!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a filmmaker based in Blackpool/York. I graduated from York St. John University in 2009 with a degree in Film and Television Production. Upon graduating I won an award from Yorkshire Television for ‘Outstanding Academic Achievement’. I also made a short film that year called The Green winning the audience award for The Big Lunch Competition at Raindance.tv.

From there I started a film company with my two creative partners Jonathan Ashdown and Paul Butler. The film company ‘Trespasser Films’ was created in 2010 and has produced several short films, music videos and most recently it’s first micro-budget feature film Nothing Man. Two of our short films are currently in short film festivals, S.erect T.race of D.sire and Big Al will premiere at Deep Fried Film in Scotland later this year.

Our debut feature film Nothing Man was made with £2,000 and has some fantastic people involved. We had an amazing crew and cast who gave up their time and energy to make the film what it is.

We are hoping to send Nothing Man to several festivals including Raindance, as they gave us our first big break and we would love to have our debut feature film premiere at their festival.

The company’s next goal (and mine) is to get our films screened at several festivals and start work on our next big project Kingswood, which has already been sent to an industry professional. We are currently looking for funding for this film whilst trying to get Nothing Man out to as many people as possible.

What are your inspirations?

My inspiration is to make films full-time. I want to wake up in the morning and get excited about going to work… Working on a film set day in, day out. Who wouldn’t be excited about that? I would love to direct films full time and make exciting, fun and story driven films that people want to see. It would be amazing to have people go to the cinema to see a film I have made. I think that’s the dream.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Nothing Man – we have had such a good time making this film and got so many awesome contacts from it. It was a huge learning curve as we turned the script around from idea to shooting in for months. This was an amazing feet and I have to thank everyone who was involved. We had an amazing cast and crew and we hope we can get the film out to people who will enjoy watching it as much as we enjoyed making it.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

This is a tricky one, I think Kevin Smith and Steven Spielberg have to be my favorites, I had the pleasure of briefly meeting Kevin Smith and I would love to meet Spielberg at some point, but they are two of the reasons I started making films in the first place – that and George Lucas, but only for the original Star Wars Trilogy.

Visit Stephen’s website, www.trespasserfilms.com; view his Tumblr and follow him on Twitter: @stevetrespasser (also follow Trespasser Films: @trespasserfilm).

Leave a Reply

