Zona Lewin

Say a big hello to Zona Lewin.

Zona currently works as a Junior Designer for Oakwood Media Group, where her clients include the likes of Mattel and Warner Bros.

‘I love to draw, and spend any time when I’m not working continuing my hand-drawn type collection,’ she says, ‘where I draw up quotes that I’ve come across.’ Zona’s own motto for success? ‘Get comfortable with being uncomfortable,’ she says. ‘Your achievements come when you push yourself and being out of your comfort zone really helps you grow – just believe you can!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a designer from Bristol. I’ve lived here for about 10 years and I love it! It’s one of the best, most creative cities and there is always so much going on.

Before I landed my job, I completed a Graphic Design Degree at UWE and landed an incredible internship at Powerslide, a skate design company in Germany. There, I worked on design concepts for agressive skates, a hobby that I take part in myself, in my spare time.

I also love tea, paper-cutting, my cat, rollerblading, baking, taking photos, travelling, screenprinting, bunting, eggs, giraffes, owls… The list goes on!

Anyone that knows me, will tell you I’m a little mad. I love to enjoy life and being creative is just a release! I’m really lucky to do a job I love.

What are your inspirations?

This is such a hard question to answer! As cheesy as it sounds, everything around me is inspiring. Looking at the things around you, the colours, the shapes, your mood… Just keeping your eyes open is so important; not getting stuck in a bubble and always building on the things you know. Give everything a shot! The worst that can happen is you fail and have to try again.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I dont have a favourite as such; maybe the work I’m most proud of is my Blaise Hamlet Map. It took so long to cut out: there were a few failed attempts so when I actually finished I was so happy!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Jessica Hische – I could look at her work all day! Her talent is amazing and despite her success, she still seems so down to earth. She is such a strong creative female and thats so inspiring. If you haven’t checked out her work, its definitely worth a look!

Visit Zona’s website and blog; Tweet her – @zonalewin.

All images © Zona Lewin. To view the designs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

