June Chanpoomidole

Meet the lovely June Chanpoomidole.

June’s family originally hail from the gorgeous and exotic farms of Thailand, and so she is ‘spoiled for choice’ when it comes to food – ‘especially as my mum owns a Thai restaurant’ (yum!)

Can you guess which month June was born in? We’ll give you a hint – the clue is very much in the name. ‘I think my parents named me ‘June’ so they would never forget my birthday…’ she says.

She has been head-over-mermaid-tail in love with Hans Christian Andersen’s fairytale The Little Mermaid ever since she was a little girl; she fuelled her passion by drawing lots and lots of mermaids.

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a freelance illustrator and am based in a gorgeous village called Cheam. I work with lots of traditional mediums such as pens, pencils, ink but mainly acrylics paints. I love drawing people and I try to tell hidden stories within my work whether it be in fashion illustration or simple portrait. I have been featured in Amelia’s Compendium of Fashion Illustration, Sketchbook Magazine and LA Fashion Snob.

I graduated from the University of Westminster with an Illustration degree; I found my love and talent for painting during my third year. Since then, I have never stopped painting!

What are your inspirations?

I find my inspirations in the most unlikeliest places. Sometimes just doing mundane tasks can give me a spark! I also love listening and talking to people – there are so many stories to tell. To me, they encapsulate their own history during their experiences on Earth. I like watching films, especially Asian cinema: they are so graceful and such vibrant cinematography. I also have a camera on me all the time, and when I see something unusual or colourful, I snap it up and I put it in my personal album.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

If I had to choose right now, it would be a piece I did for the Think. Act. Vote! “The Future I Choose…” book. Because not only was it a welcomed challenge but it kind of marks a turning point in my illustration. I can clearly remember the thought process behind it and where I was, when I thought of the composition. I wanted people to see an alternate view to our brave soldiers; we take for granted. When I was creating it, I was content.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My goodness, I have so many! My childhood favourite are also Arthur Rackham and Edmund Dulac.  I love the works of James Jeans and Rene Gruau.

Visit Junes website, JuneSees.com, and read her blog; follow her on Twitter – @junesees.

All images © June Chanpoomidole. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “June Chanpoomidole”

Leave a Reply

