Ashley Taylor

Meet Ashley Taylor.

Ashley – who’ll be starting her third year at Sunderland University in September – previously studied Fine Art whilst at college, and hopes to ‘create a successful career as an illustrator after university and live in Edinburgh!’

Ashley has ‘too many books on my bookshelf’ and drinks too much tea; she enjoys sleeping, dreaming, reading and sketching…

Keep reading to find out more!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I honestly wouldn’t know what to do with my life if I wasn’t an artist! I’m fairly new and still learning, but I wouldn’t want to do anything else.

I’m a bit weird and like to wear odd shoes, odd earrings and change my hair colour each time I visit the hairdressers. I’m a secret nerd and read manga, watch anime and play video games such as; Zelda, Final Fantasy and Skyrim. My three most cherished items are my books, my Xbox and my car (a Mini Convertible).

I want to live in Edinburgh, in an old house with a massive bed and a real fire. I would like to start archery again – when I have some free time.

What inspires your work?

My main inspiration comes from life in general and my reading. I love the beauty of nature and wildlife. I find it interesting to observe the public and their behaviour. I would love to travel one day.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

My favourite piece of art work to-date is Star Eyed Deirdre (below). I really enjoyed this piece of work because I was excited to learn new techniques on Corel Painter – I found it fun and inventive!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Alphonse Mucha is definitely my most favourite and inspiring artist. The whole Art Nouveau period inspires me, but in particular Mucha. I also adore Arthur Rackham’s illustrations on stories and tales. On a more Fine Art side, I enjoy paintings by William Holman Hunt and the Pre-Raphaelite era.

Visit Ashley’s website and Tweet her: @AshleyLouiseT.

All images © Ashley Taylor. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

