Lixin Tan

Meet writer, blogger and poet Lixin Tan.

‘One of my best friends is a stray dog my family adopted,’ says Lixin. ‘She was with us for ten years until she died of old age.’ She is now the proud owner of a hamster who ‘likes to pretend to be a prairie dog’.

Lixin is both a trypophobic and a carpophobic (Google ’em) and despite the doggy-inclined hamster, she was once described as a crazy cat lady (‘but I’m proud of it!’) – find out more below…
Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a writer living in Singapore and I have been writing since I was only five or six. I write poems, short stories, novelettes and make my own poetry chapbooks. I’m not very good at giving my works titles and that is always a problem for me, albeit a superficial one.

I love animals, and I befriended a cat I name Butterscotch. I am also a self-proclaimed Harry Potter fanatic who has cried countless times reading the series. I love everything mango.

What are your inspirations?

Anything, and anyone can be my inspiration. I love observing people (strangers especially) and often they are the ones who give me ideas for a new poem or a story. Prominent historical figures often intrigue me, too and my favourites include George Sand. My work is also inspired by memories, places I have visited, photographs, rain and music.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My poem Bone, Lace. It means a lot to me, for I think it really represents my passion for writing, my journey as a writer and the oppression I have faced while pursuing my dreams in literary arts. Every time I feel like giving up, I read this poem again and remind myself of the reason I write, and of the reason I wrote Bone, Lace in the first place.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite writer is Neil Gaiman. His works are beautiful and they never fail to touch me. I love his The Fairy Reel and I can read it over and over again.

Visit Lixin’s websites www.bonelace.net and www.dearwallflowers.com; follow her on Twitter, too – @bulletbox.

Leave a Reply

