Chris Heaton

Say hello to 24-year-old Chris Heaton, an illustrator and self-proclaimed geek.

Chris loves films (especially animated), and has a ‘Harry Potter-themed’ tattoo. ‘Anything banoffee is usually a win for me,’ he says, ‘and I own four cats. I’m potentially on that slippery slope of becoming the often-overlooked ‘crazy cat man”.

Chris enjoys fish puns: ‘if you have any, let minnow.’ Will do…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m 24, and a self proclaimed geek. I graduated from The University of Northampton in 2010, armed with a BA Illustration degree. I use dip pens, ink and the odd biro to draw with. I love making patterns and am almost always spattered with ink. I think that custard filled doughnuts are superior to jam ones.

What are your inspirations?

Mainly I find inspiration in animals and nature, which is a bit broad! I like to draw from insects and bugs. I like the delicate detail on their wings, the colours and shapes. Also Victorian era pattern and decoration is something I find visually appealing. With a bit of bold colour thrown in the mix too.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Ooh, I think my most favourite piece is the You Are Beautiful text/pattern image I did. Partly because I’m pleased with how it came out, but mostly because I sent a print of it to Stephen Fry and he replied, calling me ‘charming’. Got an autograph out of it too! Very thrilled about that.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Ah, this is tricky. This answer maybe cheating slightly but pretty much everyone who works at Pixar. I just simply adore their storytelling and the amount of work that goes into creating each film is incredible and fascinating to me. I’ve collected many, many concept art and ‘making of’ books. The Pixar ones are beyond words. I aspire to be like that. Also, bit of a wildcard, but Neil Buchanan who presented Art Attack is worthy of a mention too.

Visit Chris’s website, ‘like’ him and follow him here: @Chillustrator.

All images © Chris Heaton. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

