Abi Overland

Meet illustrator Abi Overland.

Outside of work, Abi is ‘a habitual tea drinker and lover of all food’, as well as a bit of an animal fan. ‘I’m a future crazy cat/dog/parrot lady,’ she tells us (aren’t we all…?)

Find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m currently studying Illustration at the University of Brighton, which I love.

I’m originally from Jersey – the Channel Islands, not America! I have grown up with and absolutely love the seaside; shame about the dang pebbly beaches around Brighton but we can’t have everything.

I like to make light of life with my drawings and want them to make people smile.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations come from a variety of things. I find the best way to gain inspiration is to immerse yourself in it – not to treat illustration (or art) like a job that you can leave at the door once you’ve finished for the day. You have to be obsessed with it to succeed in it.

I also like going to flea markets, vintage fairs, car boot sales, etc., which I find are a great source of inspiration. Nice walks in the East Sussex countryside are great for feeding an idea as well.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work I’ve produced has to be my most recent series called Sister. This is my favourite as it’s the first piece that is personal to me and explores the realms of the relationship between my sister (who I love) and myself. I stepped out of my comfort zone in this series but hopefully is the start of something wonderful.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are too many to choose from, but one of my favourite illustrators is Sandra Dieckmann who does a lot of illustrations of bears. They make me smile.

Visit Abi’s blog here (‘please peruse at leisure!’ she says), ‘like’ her and say hello: @AbiOverland.

All images © Abi Overland. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

