Rachel Bennett

This is artist and designer Rachel Bennett.

Rachel recently graduated from the University of Huddersfield with a BSc (Hons) in Textile Design for Fashion and Interiors.

When not working, she enjoys exploring and is a ‘gig fanatic’. She also rather likes tea – ‘decaf only, of course’.

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Prior to university, I had more of a fine art background, which I feel is apparent through my recent work. My work tends to consist of a combination of collage, illustration, printed textiles and digital print. I love experimenting and trying the unknown.

What inspires you?

My inspirations are drawn from a number of sources: architecture, exhibitions, everyday objects, National Geographic, flea markets, fine art, museums, experimentation, my surroundings, music, films…

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work has to be the recent designs that I digitally printed onto pleated fabric, some of which have then been screen printed on top. All the hours of stitching the pleats down ready to be printed on were definitely worth it!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I absolutely love the work of Robert Rauschenberg and Peter Blake. I love the techniques they use and constantly draw inspiration from their work,  among a host of other fine artists and illustrators.

Visit Rachel’s website, see more of her work here and follow her on Twitter: rachel_bennett1.

All images © Rachel Bennett. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

