Rainy Martini

Meet 18-year-old photographer Rainy Martini.

When not snapping away, Rainy loves writing (‘poetry, short stories and humour/realist essays’), as well as playing the piano and creating designs.

As a photographer, Rainy is truly unique – she doesn’t actually own a camera. ‘I consider myself to possess only two great things,’ she says. ‘A dream and a desire not to let it go.’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I was seven when I picked up the camera, 12 when I took it seriously, 15 when I had my own SLR and 16 when it was taken from me. (Personal reasons – can’t say why.) But that did not stop me from doing something I had already fallen in love with.

I’ll continue to shoot photos using different people’s cameras until I get my own. I wasn’t really resourceful until I got into this situation, but I seem to be doing well because my blog — my platform — is still alive.

What inspires your work?

A lot of things inspire me. Food, beautiful stuff, the rising of the sun, the chirping of the birds, my friends, my fellow photography enthusiasts.

I easily get inspired, but most of the time I hate hitting inspiration and seeing beautiful sceneries because I have nothing to shoot them with. I just remind myself to lock them in my mind for future use.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

This image [right] – I love it without a doubt. It has my friends on it, half-covered by the blinding sunlight while nervously waiting for the game to begin. I was just starting to play with my lens when I shot it so it also reminds me of the good times I had and will be having if I stay strong.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

My favorite creative? It’s hard to pick only one. I love dreamers like Tim Walker and Ann He. Their style never fail to enchant and give hope.

Visit Rainy’s blog and Tweet her: @sixthsicksheep.

All images © Rainy Martini. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

