One Year On: Tahir Jamil

We first spoke to Tahir Jamil in January last year. So what’s he been up to since then?

What’s been happening with you over the last 12 months?

Well, after graduating with a 2.1 degree in Visual Communication, I decided to undertake an MA in Brand Communication And Strategy. I’m now coming towards the end of my Masters.

Two of my strongest modules so far have been a brand identity brief for a cake company and also producing and delivering a lecture on ‘the key principles for creating an effective brand name’.

What have you learnt?

The most important things I have learnt during my post-graduate study are:

  • Key principles for creating an effective brand name
  • Key principles for creating and presenting a brand identity
  • Creative thinking methods
  • Brief writing principles and effective methods of working and dealing with clients

If you could hop in a time machine, go back 12 months and give yourself a piece of advice concerning your career, what would it be?

Just like my personal tutor Clive Colledge told me – be more ambitious!

What has been the highlight? What have you found difficult, career-wise?

I would say my highlight has been my second semester of my Postgraduate studies. Having really pushed myself, I have even surprised myself – as well as  friends and colleagues – with the quality of work I have output.

The most difficult thing for me is to make decisions, especially regarding my career and where I want to go. I feel strongly now that brand identity and strategy is my key area of practice.

What’s been your favourite piece of work you’ve produced?

On my BA studies it would be my puffin book collection and my typeface posters.

On my MA studies and to-date, it would be brand identity brief for the company Cake Delights.

What advice would you give to artists who are just starting out?

Be yourself and work your ass off!!!

Sum up the last 12 months in five words.

It’s been an: ‘exciting, challenging, fun, progressive journey’.

See more of Tahir’s work; visit his blogs here and here; download his fonts; and follow him on Twitter – @89freshhh.

All images © Tahir Jamil. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

