Sarah Kirk

Meet Sarah Kirk, an illustrator, ‘big coffee drinker and cheese lover with a really bad memory’.

Outside of illustration, one of Sarah’s biggest passions is reading. ‘I’m a bookworm!’ she says. ‘My favourite book changes on a daily basis, but at the moment I’m reading the Song Of Ice And Fire series – also known as Game Of Thrones – and it’s amazing. One of my biggest ambitions is to have a novel published that I have both written and illustrated.’

Watch this space…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a freelance illustrator, barmaid extraordinaire and sometime writer living in a little village corner of the Oxfordshire countryside.

My illustrations are mainly completed in paint but I also use a mixture of other mediums like inks, pens and collage to create work with a surreal edge. My favourite kind of work to do involves expressing the atmosphere of a place, preferably with some kind of dreamy narrative attached and definitely with a dark side.

Having graduated last year, I have most recently been working on a variety of different projects including work on a new children’s book for a charity who will mainly be distributing it as a reading aid in Uganda.

My favourite types of work are book covers and editorial projects but I also love making logos, branding, character design, children’s books, tattoo designs, animating, album covers, fashion design – basically I love a challenge.

What are your inspirations?

Surreal moments. Big characters in my life. Laughing with said big characters. Walks through the countryside. Trees. The horror genre. HBO TV shows. Dreams. Nightmares. Film commentaries. British comedy. Fiction writing. Reading in the sunshine. Books and newspapers. Good photography. Cheesy retro photography. Quirky fashion. Shapes made in water. Natural patterns. Reflections. Making lists…

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

The last thing I did at uni – a series of three paintings titled Isolated City [right] based on my mixed feelings about London at the time. I love cities but find it strange that so many people are lonely in such crowded spaces. I used key elements of the skyline with different mark making techniques to try and create a feeling of isolation and separation.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I love the artist Peter Doig as the atmosphere of the places he creates through his paintings are fantastic – abstract and beautiful while still managing to appear potentially real and tangible. Illustrator-wise, I adore everything that Stanley Donwood does, especially his Radiohead related work – as a massive fan he just can do no wrong. He manages to span so many different and original ideas, styles and genres whilst maintaining the look of his work as consistently and distinctively him.

Visit Sarah’s website and blog; Tweet her – @sarahemilykirk.

All images © Sarah Kirk. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

You might also like:

Scarlett Tierney
Luke Waller
Emma Brown
Leave a Reply

