Kate Rowland

This is illustrator Kate Rowland.

Kate loves reading: ‘I’ve amassed a small library over my time at uni,’ she says. ‘Moving them all home has been interesting! I’m currently reading The Pleasure Of Finding Things Out by Richard Feynman, who is a personal hero. He has a way of explaining things beautifully.’

When not illustrating, Kate loves ‘cycling along the canal paths in East London, learning to roller skate and making fancy dress costumes from papier-mâché and tin foil!’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a recent graduate of the Arts University College at Bournemouth, where I had a wonderful time studying Illustration. Now I am based in London where I am keenly pursuing a life as an illustrator!

What are your inspirations?

Old machinery, the space race, 1950s children’s books, roller skating, and an inner desire to be an astronaut. Drawing is my way of exploring.

Most of my inspiration comes from science books, films and documentaries and visiting museums – I really want to visit Jodrell Bank soon, to draw giant radio satellites and telescopes.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Uncontrol Centre is a collection of work, inspired by computers and machines used by NASA in the ’50s and 60s. I am always amazed when I think that these machines, which appear so rudimentary, allowed man to first land on the Moon.

Uncontrol Centre is a playful parody on the technology of the time. The machines appear complicated at first, but appear on closer inspection to be nonsensical, with whimsical references to video games, pop culture and toys. It was great fun to draw these, I felt like an inventor!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I admire the humour and colour in Andrew Rae’s illustrations, the artist Tom Sachs for the incredible scale of his Space Program: Mars installation, and Stacey Rozich’s lovely rendering of fantastical folky characters.

Visit Kate’s website and blog, Kate Illustrates, and follow her: @helloiamkate

All images © Kate Rowland. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

