Jamie Christopherson

Meet writer, director and video maker Jamie Christopherson.

‘At 6’5″, I’m technically a giant,’ says Jamie. ‘Although my verbose and lyrical nature might distance myself from the giants in J.K. Rowling’s books, it’s never the less something people don’t expect when they meet me in person after watching me online!’

Jamie is also a great lover of art – particularly oil paintings. ‘I enter the summer exhibition most years, and originally planned to go to art school before deciding on screenwriting and film,’ he says.

Find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a 22-year-old graduate. I hate that word, ‘graduate’ – to me it implies that university or education some how defines you where as I feel what you make defines you, and I have been trying to make things for as long as I can remember. I started off making short documentaries when I was 18, for local charities and TV channels. But quickly found that I wanted to write my own films, to make sketches and comedy shorts over documentary. While I might still make a living from documentaries my own videos are growing and growing on YouTube every day and this can only get better.

I love that moment of inspiration when you find the hook for a sketch you are writing, that one thing that makes you laugh out loud and buckle at the knees. I look at everything like a sketch, always looking for inspiration.

What are your inspirations?

I think themes and style inspire me more than individuals. I love the ‘dark comedy’ genre, I think it has so much scope for longer form content such as feature films, it enables comedy to have weight and meaning beyond being categorised as ‘trivial’ and ‘cheap entertainment’. It legitimises ‘funny’. For short content online is a massive inspiration. There is a whole style and expectation for online content that is nothing like what has come before, it is interactive and attached to the audience. Making content for online feels like you are sitting in a room of friends and trying to make them laugh, to me it is exciting you know if what you made has worked straight away as opposed to traditional television outputs.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I usually think every video I make for my YouTube channel is my best for about 2 days after posting it, then I will look back on it on day three and hate everything about it. I suppose that is a good thing, as it leaves me always wanting to make something better. But looking objectively, I would say that my new character’s first outing got a lot of positive feedback

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I really enjoy a YouTuber by the name of Crabstickz. I think he shows an awareness of himself that comes across in his videos, meaning that I couldn’t see anything he produces being made by anyone else. I think that is a huge achievement for any sketch comedian. For live stand up it would have to be a stand up named Phil Ellis. Again for the same reason, he has an awareness of self and originality that comes with it.

Visit Jamie’s YouTube channel, Jamie’s Face; have a look at his websitelike him on Facebook and Tweet him – @jamiesmouth.

Leave a Reply

