Sarah Keary

Meet music blogger Sarah Keary.

Currently studying Journalism, Sarah is a music fanatic. ‘As well as my blog, I write for a host of other music sites, including OurVinyl.com, musicreviewunsigned.com and oneononemusic.com,’ she says.

Sarah’s favourite band is Nirvana and she also enjoys playing the guitar herself.

Read on!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an Irish girl living in a Seattle state of mind. 90’s grunge is an easy way of describing my personality, with a sprinkle of 70’s punk for good measure. My life really does revolve around music. I’m either listening to it or writing about it. Someday my Seattle state of mind will be a living dream. I want to live in the city where grunge was created by bands like Nirvana and Soundgarden and write for Rolling Stone magazine. All seems pretty far-fetched, but I always make my dreams a reality.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations are solely derived from music. I suppose the shitty journalists out there inspire me too – to be a better one. Art, culture and politics definitely plays a role in my inspirations. Bands like Minor Threat just threw the whole right-wing politics out the window, set it on fire and created something really inspiring. To do that and create good music, well, one in a million, right?

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think my favourite piece of work I produced was a review on Smashing Pumpkins album Oceania, because it was a highly anticipated album, and I also got a great response from people about the review! Getting a good response is such an important thing, so its nice to hear that your effort has paid off.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I think my favourite journalist would be Gillian G. Gaar. She’s been an author for quite some time now, writing a total of ten books, I think. She started out in the whole grunge era, so I love reading her stories because they’re so in-depth and detailed. Luckily for me she asked me to review her upcoming book!

Read Sarah’s blog and ‘like’ it; Tweet her – @Polly_Beans.

Leave a Reply

