Frederick Williams

Meet illustrator and music-maker Frederick Williams.

Fred is in a band (of which more below), and is obsssed with tea – ‘especially Earl Grey’.

He dabbles in animation in his spare time, and has always loved drawing: ‘the work I create is usually of a rather traditional bent, and done with pencils, pens and so on.’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I live in St Ives, Cornwall, and am at the moment studying A-Levels at Truro College. I have always liked very much to draw things and thus the work I create is usually of a rather traditional bent and done with pencils and pens, etc.

I have done album covers and posters for various people (including the band, Shade of Red, that I am in) but I mostly draw for my own pleasure and to keep myself company with many imaginary friends (and dastardly imaginary enemies of course!)

What inspires your work?

My main inspiration is olde arte. I do very much enjoy going to art galleries and I particularly like paintings from the Renaissance and the Baroque. I am also influenced by illustrators like Mcbess, Tom Gauld and Kate Beaton, and by the steampunk aesthetic and medieval illuminations. Plus everything that I happen to come across…

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I don’t really have a favourite piece of work, I’m afraid. Although there was once this box-thing that I created for my AS-Level. I don’t have any pictures of it – but it consisted of a peep hole through which a rather surreal scene (populated with bizarre fellows) could be discerned.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite artist changes every hour or so. I think my most recent favourite was Pietro Longhi and his wonderful masked carnival figures. Other favourites are Bosch, Hilliard and Keith Thompson, plus a multitude of others.

See more of Fred’s work here, have a listen to some of his music and Tweet him: @FlyingChivaus.

All images © Frederick Williams. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

