Jamie Kirk

This is graphic designer Jamie Kirk.

When not studying or running his t-shirt company Telic Tees, Jamie loves music, films, doodling skateboarding, comedy… ‘and everything in between!’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Subliminal

I’m currently studying Graphic Design at the University of Huddersfield. After recently creating Telic Design, I’ve begun branching out from my brand creating Telic Tees alongside it.

I love to incorporate an experimental, simplistic approach to my work and thrive to explore all areas of design. My focused fields are graphic design, typography, photography and t-shirt design/print!

Sea Blues

What are your inspirations?

I inspire to be an ever-evolving designer, producing original, unusual, experimental work.

My inspirations stem from various fields, aside from music, films and books artists of my interest at the moment are The Zonders and typographer Zeptonn.

Alongside that, I tend to go through phases of strong influences, my current influence is a fusion of the 70’s and science.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I’m quite critical towards my work and to push myself to create better or more unusual ideas.

I tend to enjoy my most recent work, in particular a design which I incorporated war, typography and dimensions titled Accuracy. Ideas that are fresh from my brain give me more enthusiasm as I love jumbling my ideas together to produce a varied style of designs that each has their own considered aspect.

Accuracy Design

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite creative would have to be Banksy, although he may not be classed as a ‘Graphic Designer’ his work is always thought-provoking, controversial and distinctive.

See some of Jamie’s t-shirt designs here, have a look at his Tumblr and follow his Twitter accounts: @Jamie_Iain and @TelicDesign.

All designs © Jamie Kirk. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

