Owen Harvey

This is 22-year-old documentary photographer Owen Harvey.

As well as his photography, Owen loves music: ‘I usually spend too much money on photography-related objects, and I own far too many guitars… It’s over-taking the space that I live in!’

Keep reading!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I was born in Watford and have lived there for 21 years. I’m studying Documentary Photography at Newport Wales, and I live between Wales and London.

Between the ages of 18-21, I played in a band called None The Less and we were fortunate enough to play major festivals such as Download festival (Donnington race track), Underage festival (Victoria Park) and many more. We went on to tour the UK extensively, playing with well-respected bands, and from this I learnt a lot about the industry, from dealing with press releases to record labels.

In 2010, I decided to go to Newport University Wales to study Documentary Photography. I decided that this was what I wanted to pursue in the future. With this in mind, I left the band to concentrate on photography and since starting university last year, I have been working on projects that mainly look at socio-economics and concentrate on youth.

Over my time at Newport University, I have also been assisting Laura Pannack (World Press award winner – Portrait single 2010), gaining experience working on commercial shoots with her.

What are your inspirations?

I’d love to work as a full-time photographer in the future and to be able to travel and see more of the world because of this.

I’d also like to exhibit my work as much as possible and go on to turn long-term projects in to books, as well as work commercially for magazines…

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I am currently working on a project based in the area where I used to live. It’s still very much in-progress, but it’s a body of work I think could eventually go on to become a powerful statement about how the recession has affected the ‘subject’ that I am shooting.

The story has lots of different layers and because of this, I’m shooting video as well as stills, which is something new and exciting for me. As this is a long-term project, it’s hard to say that it’s my specific favourite body of work, but it is one that I am extremely interested in and that I hope will be a strong piece of work when completed.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Since I have gained an interest in photography, my favourite photographer has become Trent Parke. His use of light, and specifically his work from Minutes to Midnight and Dream Life, amaze me every time I see them.

I also love the works of Antoine D’Agata, Eugene Richards, Ewen Spencer and Paolo Pellegrin.

Visit Owen’s website and Tweet him: @ojharv.

All images © Owen Harvey. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

