Jack Richardson

This is graphic designer Jack Richardson.

‘I love cinema and watching a good (or bad…) film,’ says Jack. ‘I am a huge football fan, and also love to go snowboarding when I can afford it.’

Jack has an affinity with cats – ‘especially when they have a piece of bread on their head’ (we are intrigued…). He also has a slight obsession with Arnold Schwarzneggar ‘that I can’t seem to explain’.

Read on…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a 25-year-old graphic designer from Cambridge.

After graduating from Cambridge School of Art in 2009 I focused the next months on my portfolio. I got very lucky and landed a job at Cambridge born clothing label Supremebeing. The bulk of the job is creating content and managing the website. The job also entails creating weekly newsletter campaigns along with all the creative for it. The job is quite varied as it’s a small company but other design work includes seasonal t-shirt graphics, product photography, branding work, magazine and web adverts along with running the social media channels.

What are your inspirations?

Inspiration seems to come from all angles really as I’m inspired by geometry, whether it be natural or man made. The universe and the stars interest me massively, I’m not smart enough to fully understand it but visually it’s out of this world (sorry!) As I was born in the 80s i subconsciously love all imagery and avenues of design and typography that come out of the decade and it mostly reflects in my work.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

In my current job at Supremebeing i get to create an array of t-shirt graphics each season and sometimes throughout the season also. My favourite is probably my most recent graphic Huli Wigman, inspired by the theme ‘Lost Worlds’ turned out to be something that I’m actually proud of! Unfortunately I can’t show you a lot of my latest work due to the nature of working for a clothing brand.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Two creatives that stand out for me are Emil Kozak and Olly Moss. Kozak is a Barcelona based designer and illustrator doing all the things that I love best, illustration, print work, custom typography and apparel design. Olly Moss is synonymous with minimal movie posters and is a man of many ideas. The work from his ‘Paper Cuts’ show is something that needs to be seen.

Visit Jack’s Tumblr, see more of his work here and visit the SupremeBeing website; Tweet Jack – @rchrdsnjck.

All images © Jack Richardson. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

