James Sanders

This is writer James Sanders.

Outside of his work, James is currently working on a novel about revenge: ‘the theme interests me’. He also loves singing classic soul, as well as jazz – ‘a secret career dream of mine is to become a back-up singer!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I write as much as I can, but more than that – I love fashion. Writing about fashion and luxury has been a dream come true. Growing up in New Jersey didn’t give me much in terms of fashion, but after my first trip to Prada in the SoHo section of New York, I was hooked.

Writing for publications such as: VOGUE Italia, EBONY Magazine, and The Huffington Post is amazing. I still get chills when I see my byline in print and online. My BA is in Journalism and I am receiving a MA in Writing Studies.

I hope to publish my short memoir about my experience of being homeless while pursuing fashion journalism very soon. I’ve learned that you have to work for everything and it is always easier when you are willing and happy to do so.

What are your inspirations?

I am inspired by the pages of VOGUE – any version really; I love them all and I read them all. I think that Grace Coddington is brilliant and I hope to meet her one day.

I am also inspired by the work ethic of Rachel Zoe and Marc Jacobs. Their ability to find new and unconventional ways to translate their perspectives is amazing.

And lastly, I am inspired by Andre Leon Talley. He has accomplished more than any other African-American in fashion. As an African-American fashion writer, I hope to one day have his kind of success.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favorite piece would have to be my first story for VOGUE Italia. It was a short piece on Marilyn Monroe. As a fashion writer, being published in VOGUE means the world to me.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favorite writer is Zora Neale Hurston. This Harlem Renaissance writer could craft a story like no other. Her rich characters and scandalous prose make every page worth reading.

Read some of James’s work here; visit his Tumblr, James Sanders At Large; Tweet him – @JamesRSanders.

3 thoughts on “James Sanders”

  1. His byline is definitely making the rounds in fashion. I’ve seen some of his stuff and it’s rather impressive. By looking at his Tumblr page he has an expert eye for strong photos and strong fashion. And I agree with him on Grace Coddington! She is the truth!!!!

Leave a Reply

