Louise Wyatt

Say hello to Louise Wyatt, who describes herself as: ‘illustrator, magpie, cook, tea drinker and biscuit consumer’.

Louise is currently working on her very own recipe book; ‘I’m creating recipes and currently writing and designing the book,’ she says. She is a ‘complete bookworm with an ever-increasing library’ and is also a dedicated Orange Wednesday-er.

Find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am an illustrator organically grown on a farm in Somerset. I am inspired by life & enjoy responding directly to objects & experiences from it. This results in a desire to bring the mundane to life, encouraging others to appreciate the little things we take for granted.

I recently graduated from the Arts University College at Bournemouth where I had a wonderful time discovering the ins and outs of illustration.

I was born into a family of magpies and as a result was brought up rummaging around antique and flea markets. So I enjoy a good hunt for a bargain, anything from clothing to furniture, which I can do up or recreate into something else.

What are your inspirations?

Books(buying and reading, old and new), cooking or anything related to it, my surroundings, experiences, nostalgia, but most of all my inspiration comes from the little things in life we enjoy but, more often than not, overlook. This is currently being portrayed through my illustrations of classic british meals.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Best of British is a series of deconstructed british classics such as the full english, fish and chips and the Sunday roast dinner. My two loves in life are cooking and illustrating so why not combine the two. I want my culinary illustrations to bring a smile to a persons face and a rumble in their tummy.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

Joel Penkman’s work has recently come into my life. The hyper reality of his paintings makes me smile every time I look at them.

Emily Hughes, a previous class mate of mine, who’s work I have adored since first sight. Her stories are as beautiful and heart warming as her illustrations.

Visit Louise’s website and blog; Tweet her: @louwyart.

All images © Louise Wyatt. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Louise Wyatt”

Leave a Reply

