Sam Davis

Meet 21-year-old photographer Sam Davis.

When not getting snap happy, Sam enjoys ‘a game of basketball, a good film, a reclusive holiday abroad or even a camping trip’.

Sam was born in England, spent six years in Illinois and is now back in Stoke on Trent. He studied Graphic Design at A-Level before opting to pursue Photography at university – find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

‘The eye is never satisfied with seeing.’ And I am happy (though not always…) to live with that! Glad to be able to see, and love sharing my journey of consciousness while I still have it. A philosopher (at least I think.. therefore I must be.) with a camera exploring the world around me and with my work, always trying to evoke that which is unseen.

What inspires your work?

I try not to be too inspired by any one person, and keep myself out of a ‘world induced haze’ constantly grabbing from a whole range of visual, literary, and emotional mediums / experiences that I encounter along my way. I don’t like to restrict myself by just looking at certain people so I try to continually change and explore others.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

The work I did with a girl named Rebecca, entitled Dissipate. It was a project that I really felt that I had developed right the way through, a long process that ended with an exhibition and a conclusion of my 3 years at uni studying for a BA Hons in Photography.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

In my early encounters with photography, I liked a lot of Duane Michals’s work (his Chance Meeting photographs) as well as Julia Margaret Cameron because they seemed, to me, to want to show more than simply the visual. They wanted to imply and make you think deeper into the images.

Visit Sam’s website, ‘like’ him and Tweet him: @samd_photo.

All images © Sam Davis. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

