Jenny Callan

Meet 23-year-old Jenny Callan, who lives in Leeds with her partner David (‘he’s really nice’).

Jenny collects perfume samples cards and always has to have the TV volume on an even number.

She likes a glass of wine (‘red, white and rose…’) and nothing makes her happier than listening to Enema Of The State by Blink 182 (‘on repeat’).

Jenny has recently started training as a Youth Offender volunteer. ‘I’ll also be working as an Art Mentor with Victim Support later in the year,’ she adds.

Keep reading to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I moved to Leeds from Durham City in 2008 to study at Leeds College of Art. I graduated in 2011 with a BA (Hons) degree in Printed Textiles and Surface Pattern Design.

I have exhibited my work in a few exciting places like Indigo Fashion Trade Fair in Paris, International Artists Book Fair in Glasgow and Leeds and at New Designers in London. It was here that I was approached by Wilkinson, with whom I have been working with as a designer since leaving University. I designed the new photography stationary range which is now available online and in 184 of their stores nationwide!

I am working on a commission basis now (please contact me about work/prints etc!) and have also worked with Absolute Radio to create a mug design for their studio.

My future career ambition is to be an art teacher. I have always wanted to teach and the opportunity to share my passion for art with others is really exciting and I can’t wait to be doing that everyday.

What inspires your work?

My work is inspired by people’s obsessive habits, things people collect, items in charity shops and vintage stores where theres random stuff everywhere. Neatness. Mess. Obsessive compulsive disorder.

My personal inspirations (that are not linked to my artwork) are people who have been dealt a crap hand in life but are still really happy. The Olympians. The Paralympians. And the woman with a shaved head and her eyebrow pierced on 24 hours in A&E.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

A hand-drawn A3 illustration that took me 16 hours. It’s based on stamp collecting and is a very detailed piece to reflect obsession. It’s my favourite piece because it’s satisfying to look at and is everything I am proud of in my work. When I look at it, I remember how happy it made me while I was working on it. It’s in my signature black-and-white style and was shortlisted for a competition at The Bowery in Headingley, Leeds.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I cant choose between these people: Johanna Basford, Charlotte Mann, Lizzie Mary Cullen and Sarah Sze. I love their work, it inspires me a lot.

See more of Jenny’s work here and Tweet her: @jennycallan.

All images Β© Jenny Callan. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

