Katie Rewse

This is illustrator Katie Rewse.

Outside of her work, Katie loves camping, the great outdoors and watersports. ‘I also like collecting picture books,’ she says, ‘and eating lots of cheese…’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a freelance illustrator, freshly graduated from the Arts University College at Bournemouth. Originally from Cumbria, I spent my childhood in Dorset, where disappointingly it never snowed, but living by the sea definitely made up for this.

I like adventures, and traveling around in our trusty campervan Bernard; I find lots of inspiration in the outdoors.

I enjoy drawing people and animals, and developing characters is probably my favourite thing to do. I spend a lot of time in pet shops, obsessing over small furry creatures.

What are your inspirations?

As well as finding inspiration in the wilderness, I am fascinated by people, and can often be a bit too nosy. I also really enjoy learning about cultures that are not my own. I love creating detailed patterns, and usually turn to textiles for inspiration.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

Sasha’s School Trip (below) is a picture book that I have recently created. I wanted to spend my final term at university drawing things I found interesting, so chose to illustrate a book about a school trip to a stately home. It was a fun project to work on, I was so absorbed in creating this story, I was a bit sad once it was finished.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I feel very lucky to have been tutored by Salvatore Rubbino. His work is fresh and eye catching. I could spend hours getting lost in the pages of his picture books, there is always so much detail. I’m also a big fan of both Oliver Jeffers and David Roberts.

Visit Katie’s website, ‘like’ her and say hello on Twitter: @katierewse.

All images © Katie Rewse. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

