Chia-Ying Tu

Meet musician Chia-Ying Tu.

Chia-Ying is a highly talented pianist (listen to her play here) and she is currently preparing to make her debut London recital at The Forge  on November 6th.

“For me,” she says, “interpreting music means the music language translation. I translate not just notes but the whole atmosphere and the way of life into music – the composer’s composing style can influence the style of translation.”

Read on…

Chia-Ying’s travelling notes

Tell us a bit about your self…

I am currently doing my MA degree at the Royal Academy of Music in London, studying with British concert pianist Joanna MacGregor.

Besides winning many prizes in Taiwan – my home country, I gave my first public recital at the age of 18. At that time, I began to think about the difference between early success and building a sustained career, and not long after I made the decision not to go to competitions during my Bachelor studies, which I started to study abroad, to concentrate on learning.

I always believe I need to develop self-worth and self-awareness more than my musical technique. I luckily receive private coaching from world-renowned German piano pedagogue Professor Karl-Heinz Kämmerling in Salzburg after moving to Austria in 2008 from the U.S., where I accepted a high sum merit scholarship to the Peabody Conservatory of Music of the Johns Hopkins University. I have also participated in several master classes, appearing in many German cities as well as elsewhere in Europe.

Chia-Ying’s travelling notes

What are your inspirations?

I try to make gallery, museum and theatre visits regularly. This not only enriches my imagination but also allows me to create dramas/stories inside the music, helping me gain interesting ideas for interpreting music. I hope to present art, especially paintings, and music as two irrevocably linked parts of a whole. My audience is my inspiration as well! I love the moment I feel a magic bond with the public, like an invisible bridge connecting me with the audience.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I like playing Mozart the most! For no reason, it has always been a very natural feeling for me to play Mozart – almost like breathing. But still there are a lot of composers the music of which I play with great joy.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Oh, there are so many of the Golden-age pianists that I admire. Some one like Arthur Rubinstein or Vladimir Horowitz – there was such an individuality of what they were trying to bring out, especially with their expressions and phrasing. If I had a time machine, I would hardly wait to go back and hear performances of Gilels’s Beethoven, Rubinstein’s Chopin, Arrau’s Liszt, and Horowitz’s Rachmaninov etc. And when times get hard, Claudio Arrau’s words always cheer me up: “To a dedicated heart, even a smaller talent can convey musical information.” Also, there are many admirable pianists of our time. Though some of them are not famous, I admire them.

Visit Chia-Ying’s website here and see some of her performances here.

Leave a Reply

