Rosie Wheeldon

Meet illustrator Rosie Wheeldon.

Rosie is mildly obsessed with Marie Curie: “I think I’ve read every book written about her!” she says. “This stems from a love of the time period – mid 1800s-early 1900s – and the imagery surrounding it. I also admire the way she approached problems and challenges.”

Rosie is a dog-owner (she also sponsors a dog through the Dogs’ Trust) and she likes listening to music, exploring and going for long walks with her partner, Lee.

Find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I live and work in East Yorkshire. I graduated from my Illustration degree in 2011, and I was lucky enough recently to be signed with the Bright Group Illustration Agency so I am on my way little by little to my dream career in children’s illustration!

I still work part-time in a clothes shop so I can fund my Waterstones habit. I spend my summer holidays in Sweden playing with my three younger siblings in lakes and forests. I love tea (naturally – I’m a creative professional!) and I have a passion for history, the theatre and space travel. I am slightly obsessed with Marie Curie…

What are your inspirations?

Nothing inspires me like a little adventure, and they happen every day! I draw lots of inspiration from everyday life. I am very inspired when I talk to little children too; they say the most interesting things and I get so many ideas for illustrations from them.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Hmm… that is a tough one! I don’t really have a favourite piece in particular although I tried to include my favourite ones in this feature. I end up liking the illustrations that were hardest to get right because I learn more from them for next time!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Goodness, I have lots! A mixture of fine artists and illustrators make up my favourites; I love the work of Brett Helquist, Tim Burton, Emily Gravett, Andy Warhol and Toulouse Lautrec. My favourite painting is Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh.

See more of Rosie’s work here; read her blog and Tweet her – @scrimmle.

All images © Rosie Wheeldon. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

