Pippa Tollervey

Meet fashion designer Pippa Tollervey.

When not at her sewing machine, Pippa loves shopping, traveling and designing (visit her site to have a look at her super-cute hamburger bags!)

She can speak French, German and a bit of French, and, most impressively of all, is totally self-taught when it comes to sewing.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m 17-years-old and am currently studying Fashion at college. I got my first sewing machine when I was 6 – I bought my first overlocker about two years ago.

What inspires your work?

Watermelon scarf

I find inspiration to be something that just comes, as trying to force it…really doesn’t work! I find the kitsch and quirky inspirational, like Meadham Kirchoff catwalk shows and Kate Spade’s armadillo bag; and I’m always checking up on Instagram to see if anything inspirational comes up.

Generally, I find things in my environment inspirational:- London or Brighton particularly. This summer, especially, the Olympics have had quite a big influence on my designs.

Equally I can be flicking through magazines, watching adverts or listening to music and it just comes to me. When I do feel inspired, I make sure to blog it – to save it for later as well as sharing it with the world.

Red velvet dress

What is your favorite piece of work you have produced?

I think my favorites have to be a toss-up between the red velvet dress or the pink fur-and-pom-pom coat. The red velvet dress is something I wear quite often, and photographs really well! The velvet was an absolute horror to work with, so it’s nice to have something to show for the hard work.

The pom pom coat!

The coat is quite kitsch, which I really like at the moment, and it’s very, very warm. I’m not a self-conscious person, and in general I think that the typical London girl is very confident in herself. The coat is for bold London girls everywhere – girls who aren’t scared to treat their inner child.

Who’s your favorite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

This is such a tough question! I absolutely LOVE Prada. I’m definitely a bag person, but I’m also a fan of Mulberry, Moschino, Olympia Le Tan, and Dolche and Gabbana.

I adore Stella McCartney’s work and her ethics are incredible! She’s such a strong, inspiring women, and I really love what she stands for!

Visit Pippa’s blog, P Is For Pippa, and Tweet her: @Pippa_Tollervey.

All images © Pippa Tollervey. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

2 thoughts on “Pippa Tollervey”

Leave a Reply

