Greg Forrester

Meet writer Greg Forrester.

‘When I’m not writing, I have an easy life,’ says Greg. ‘I enjoy falling in and out of love – although I complain about the regularity that this happens…’

Greg also enjoys playing football, watching films and spending time with his friends – as he says: ‘I couldn’t cope with a complicated life’.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m 23, and from Sunderland in the North East of England. I’ve recently just finished an English and Creative Writing degree, but I kind of fell into writing. It was something that, throughout school, I’d enjoyed but never thought seriously on.

I’ve never, I’m embarrassed to admit, been a big reader – I’m still not – and so what little I knew about fiction came from ideas I’d formed myself, and when the opportunity to do Creative Writing at university came up, it intrigued me. And since I wrote the very first line of my first short story, I’ve been absorbed by writing.

What are your inspirations?

I don’t really have any. Not to the extent of having that one person whose life you dream of emulating and whose every success drives you forward as well. I like to try and inspire myself where I can.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

About a year ago, I wrote a short story about a mole that went speed-dating. I love that story, and the character. It’s playful, clever and emotive. It’s not to be taken serious, but plays with real things at the same time. It just plays with them with moles.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite writer is Carlos Ruiz Zafon. The Barcelona  setting of his books, especially The Shadow of the Wind, is the epitome of everything that can be reached by the power of words; beautiful, tragic, broken, magical. It’s a story about everything, and yet, of nothing more complicated than the love of one boy for a book. He has a way with words that’s like being kissed.

Read some of Greg’s work here; visit his blog, Infamously Greg, and tweet him: @GregForrester4.

Leave a Reply

