Janelle Burger

Meet illustrator Janelle Burger.

Janelle is signed with an Australian illustration agency called The Illustration Room and in her spare time, ‘I collect miniature food, try to do yoga four times a week and am obsessed with my bike. And edamame beans’.

She takes street-style photos during Paris Fashion Week ‘for extra cash’ and is a self-confessed Nintendo nerd.

Find out more below…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a 20-something-year-old girl, born and raised in Perth, Western Australia who has been drawing since I can remember.

I moved to Paris four years ago just for the hell of it and decided to make my dreams come true by becoming an illustrator. At the moment I’m into illustrating looks from fashion week, but my real passion is drawing silly little doodles on weird situations that happen in my life.

I also like Pina Coladas and getting caught in the rain.

What are your inspirations?

This may sound weird but food really inspires me. I love to go to my local bakery and just check out what the bakers have created everyday. To me that is art! I also get inspired by just being around other creative people and going to art galleries or even watching a cartoon. As you can tell, I’m easily inspired.

What is your favorite piece of work you have produced?

Last year I worked really hard on making a food guide zine to all my favorite places to eat at in Paris. It took me a super long time but I finally did it. I get asked so often “where should I eat in Paris?” by people, now they can buy the zine. Win win!

Who is your favorite creative in your chosen field?

I have far too many favorites to chose from, at the moment I have an art crush on a girl that I follow on Flickr and I don’t even know her real name! I just know her Flickr name – jiiakuann. I’m really jealous of her style!

See more of Janelle’s work here and visit her blog here. Tweet her: @JanelleBurgers.

All images © Janelle Burger. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

