INSPIRED: Kate Sheridan

Designer Kate Sheridan has recently launched a capsule range that’s being stocked exclusively by the V&A in London.

Kate has been creating pieces for over 10 years and has has worked for a range of high-profile clients as well as showcasing her designs at London Fashion Week – we asked her to spill the beans about her career so far…

How did the collaboration with the V&A come about?

Susan Mouncey – head buyer at the V&A – has followed my collections for some time and I have been fortune enough to be showcased in the amazing V&A shop previously. When she approached me with the idea of the collaboration, I was thrilled and jumped at the chance. The V&A shop is so inspiring and has some really unique products.

You’ve previously designed for the likes of Urban Outfitters and Topshop. What, to you mind, makes a good design?

Something that is unique, functional and good quality.

What are your favourite pieces to produce and why?

At the moment I am very excited about my Outerwear range – launched recently and going down a storm!

What advice would you give to budding designers?

Do as many work placements as you can in varied roles to get a full understanding of how a brand is built.

Have you always wanted to work in design? What qualifications/experience did you undertake?

Yes, since I was very small – my parents were both in the rag trade so it seemed very natural to me. I did a degree at Cordwainers College in Footwear & Accessories design.

Whilst on my course, I won a design competition and subsequently a work placement at Patrick Cox covering all areas of the busines,s which was so enlightening. On graduation I was offered a full time role in the press office and stayed for over three years. From here, I worked at a magazine and for a few other designers before I decided I simply wanted to do it myself.

What has been the highlight of your career so far?

Lots! Getting accepted into London Fashion Week against all the high-quality competition was great – and gaining profile stockists including Urban Outfitters, Harvey Nichols, ASOS and the V&A, too!

What are the best and worst things about working in design?

The best thing is seeing someone wearing and loving your work – nothing can beat that. The lows – never having enough hours in the day to spend creating!

What’s next?

Expansion of my outerwear and possibly a retail space.

Browse Kate’s collection at the V&A here and shop more of her pieces here.

Leave a Reply

