Adam Cairns

Meet illustrator Adam Cairns.

Adam is 17-years-old and lives in Scotland.

Outside of his work, he loves reading and once owned a cat called Stinky. ‘I’ll let you decide if that’s cruel or funny – either way, I didn’t name him!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My name is Adam Cairns, I’m a 17-year-old freelance Illustrator working out of home in Scotland. I haven’t had any formal education in art although I am hoping to attend the Glasgow School of Art in 2013. I tend to draw a lot and probably love Doctor Who and Lord of the Rings too much. My work is always made up of whatever I think of on the spot.

What are your inspirations?

I love to listen to music when I draw, so I guess that’s a big inspiration. I also like art galleries and generally looking at as much art as I can, regardless of the style or medium.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I’d probably have to say the Skyland piece that I completed for the Intrinsic Nature International Collective. It marks a place where I became more satisfied by the direction in which my work was going. It can be viewed here and is available on clothing in my store.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Well, I don’t think I could pick one, there have been (at least) four artists that have always been a big inspiration. They are: Phil Dunne, Pat Perry, Steve Simpson and Neil Hanvey. All of their work is incredible.

View more of Adam’s work here and here. Follow him on Twitter: @adam_cairns.

All images © Adam Cairns. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Adam Cairns”

Leave a Reply

