Grace Sandford

Meet Grace Sandford.

Grace describes herself as a workaholic and amateur ghost-hunter. She will buy anything that has a deer on it as ‘deer are the best! I’m widely known by my peers as a deer-lover… Which I didn’t know was so obvious!’

Keep reading to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a third-year Illustration student studying at the University of Lincoln and at the end of this month I will be 22 years old, ouch!

I’ve always been passionate about drawing, especially drawing animals and I love charming details and decorative illustrations. I’ve always believed that my work should be attractive even when portraying a certain message as it is the beauty that attracts the attention first before the meaning.

When I graduate I’m hoping to become a children’s book illustrator which is a passion of mine, I love the characters and stories in so many children’s books. I think I love them more than I ever did when I was a child!

What inspires your work?

At the moment everyone inspires my work. Working at my studio at university I’m constantly surrounded by competition but I try to see this as a positive to motivate me to do the best I can. You can never compare people’s styles to your own (we’re all unique), but you can compare people’s attitudes. Be positive!

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

This changes constantly, it will probably be different while you’re reading this right now! But it’s currently my Halcyon (above). It was originally for an Ellie Goulding competition but alas I did not win.

I’m fond of the pen and ink detail with contrast to the bright digital colours. I strongly believe in creating traditional work over digital, and I think that this piece shows that you can still be traditional but contemporary in a digital world.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

This also changes often as I get inspired by different people all the time, in a slightly obsessive way! Although if it wasn’t for children’s book illustrator Catherine Rayner, I probably wouldn’t have considered creating children’s books myself. The way she works is fantastic with a seemingly hectic style, but in reality it is so controlled and detailed! If you haven’t read any of her books, please do so!

Visit Grace’s blog and see more of her work here. Tweet her: @GraceSandford.

All images © Grace Sandford. To view the images more clearly, click on them.

Leave a Reply

