Dawn Ellis

Meet graphic designer Dawn Ellis.

‘I live in a bubble,’ says Dawn. ‘I tend to not notice or pay attention to the world around me. My creative mind doesn’t need disturbing – and this often makes me a major target for ‘blonde moments’!’

Dawn is a fan of all things cute and small: ‘I would love to have a pet hedgehog named [Spike] Milligan.’ Coffee fuels her – ‘anything is possible after a cuppa!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently undergoing my final year at the University of Salford studying for my degree in Design Futures. After graduating from the university’s HND Graphic Design course, I decided that I wanted to further my knowledge on how the creative industry works. Not only does Design Futures give students training in design and management but it provides them with invaluable work experience, opening many doors within the world of design and business ethnic.

My creative streak I believe to have inherited from my mother, who loved to create and draw for her own personal satisfaction. I grew to idolize her creative eye which often saw me and my younger sister win several art-based competitions within school. When she passed away in 2003 I used my inherited skills as a means to escape. Now its a part of me.

Design is a way of life and a way of thinking. I love how the creative mind works and comes up with solutions compared to people who have a more logical way of thinking. My mind is exploding with creative solutions and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

What inspires your work?

Life itself; I believe I am a very positive person who likes to battle through all given situations and concentrate on the positives that come out of each given one. This fuels my creativeness as I like to produce light-hearted work with a positive message. I have also got a keen eye for design, whenever I see new trends or ways of working I like to try my hand at them. Anything is possible.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

That’s a tough question! I go through phrases where I adore a piece of work and the next week I dismiss it once I find a hidden flaw. I can be my own worst enemy at times. I’d have to say that ‘Love is Just a Word’ [left] is my favourite piece of work at the moment. It is an a3 poster which is strictly built up of different letters (below 12px) from the typeface Helvetica and only uses a greyscale colour scheme. As you can imagine it took me months to complete.

What is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have many artists who I inspire to; my favourite at the moment would have to be illustrator Mike Perry. I have become very fond of hand-drawn typography. Typography which is drawn by hand has the possibility of being richly detailed, profoundly beautiful and imperfectly unique. Mike Perry is a fine example of this; his work has largely influenced my work. Like my favourite artist I like to build letters up with mini-illustrations, paying close attention to detail.

Visit Dawn’s website and read her blog; follow her on Twitter, @dawnellis191.

All images © Dawn Ellis. To view the images more clearly, click on them.

Leave a Reply

