Rosalind Jana

This is writer and blogger Rosalind Jana.

‘I adore having a good debate,’ says Rosalind, ‘whether it’s on politics or the significance of clothing.’

Rosalind also loves both music and dance – ‘although I can’t do either’ – and likes to go to the theatre whenever possible: ‘although I live in the West Midlands, we have an incredible number of plays from Edinburgh, London and further afield that tour in my area’.

Rosalind is a ‘coffee snob’and regular frequenter of cafes – I love nothing more than a few hours with a book and a brownie’. Anything else we need to know? ‘I model informally, am a vocal advocate of charity shops and I hate to be without a notebook and pen.’

Keep reading to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a seventeen-year-old student currently at sixth form, and am hoping to take English Literature at university. When I’m not completing essays or reading I’ll be taking photos and writing pieces for my blog ‘Clothes, Cameras and Coffee’. I also contribute to Lionheart magazine, Oxfam’s website, Eco-Age and The Vagenda. My main topics of choice are style, photography, literature, culture, family and feminism – along with memoir style articles. At age sixteen I won the UK Vogue Talent Contest for writers under 25, and my article was published in the magazine last year. This summer I spent a month working as a paid intern on the features department.

Alongside writing, my blog is a platform my my styling and photography. I’ve been attending London Fashion Week for two-and-a-half years now and have been featured in magazines ranging from Vogue Japan to a French Grazia and Sunday Times Style.

What inspires your work?

It depends on the subject matter. Many of the pieces written for my blog are created in response to something – whether this is a news article, a conversation with a friend or a museum visited. It’s incredibly satisfying to collate my thoughts into something readable once a week, and to know that I have a platform for showcasing these musings and gathering responses.

I have an ever-expanding document on my desktop of all the topics I want to write about. The world is so rich in stimulus, and my interests span from social issues at one end of the scale to the joy of scrapbooking at the other, so there is always something to express. I’m driven by a mixture of curiosity, passion and a desire to capture and reflect parts of my life and those of others.

In terms of photography and outfits I’m inspired by anything from old films (such as the magnificent The Red Shoes) to the weather outside. I regularly draw on stories, family photographs, literature, galleries and childhood memories.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

From an achievement point of view it would be the piece that was published in Vogue last year. It was a parody piece about an agricultural show, written in the style of a fashion report. The ‘catwalk’ was for showcasing cattle, the local photographer was named Mario Testosterone and many of the attendees were clad in shearling or leather – particularly the sheep and cows. On a slightly less tongue in cheek note though, the ending was a celebration of the very rural area I live in where farming is still an important part of the community. To see this piece printed in a mainstream magazine was incredibly thrilling.

However, in terms of the piece of work I am most satisfied with creatively, then it would probably be the four part series on my blog devoted to various aspects of feminism. I covered my own perspective of feminism, the issue of male feminism, feminism and body image, and feminism and fashion. It was an infinitely satisfying and challenging quartet of articles to write (with the last one only appearing on my blog very recently) – they can be seen here.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field? 

Oh gosh, how to restrict myself to one? I’ll choose Angela Carter, because she worked as both a literary critic and a novelist. Her old articles for the London Review of Books crackle with knowledge, perception and insight while her books are inventive, playful and incredibly sensuous. She is a joy to read. As my eventual aim is to work as both a journalist and author, she is a figure whose work ethic and achievements I wholly admire. There are countless other creatives, not only in the various fields of writing (poetry, prose, journalism, biography etc), but also photography and art who I look up to and draw inspiration from, but I’ll restrain myself from listing them all here!

Visit Rosalind’s blog Clothes, Cameras and Coffee and follow her on Twitter: @clothescamerasc.

Leave a Reply

