Jasmine Prasad

Jasmine PrasadMeet 22-year-old graphic designer Jasmine Prasad.

‘I don’t get much time for hobbies in between working full-time, freelancing and personal projects,’ says Jasmine.

Jasmine has musical ambitions. ‘I started to learn the piano in school – I quit when I couldn’t play perfect concertos after my first 20-minute lesson,’ she says. ‘I’m gonna finishing learning it one day though.’

And until then? ”I’ll probably just toss some more grenades in Call Of Duty…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I studied Graphic and Media Design at London College of Communication.Jasmine Prasad

I create characters, logos and posters. I sketch, paint and animate too. I’ve dabbled in making things move in Flash but I enjoy the conceptual side of animation more. I’ve made Exist,a sci-fi motion comic, and Pigtailz & Poplock, a 90s Saturday morning cartoon throwback.  I do prefer creating crassly-humoured cartoons over anything too deep or artsy.

What inspires your work?

My work is inspired by everything. If you look at my blog, you’ll see it’s pretty diverse!

I like to experiment with graphics. Everything doesn’t need a brief. I start with anything from a quote, a colour, a texture and go from there. I don’t plan but I freestyle and develop pieces organically.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

My favourite project I’ve ever done is Titsgun & Boobgrenade: Bounty Hunters. It’s ‘An animated sitcom with colourful characters and off-colour humour!’Follow bounty hunters, Titsgun & Boobgrenade, as they clean up the streets of San Antonio, Texas. Also featuring Cheesy Pete of Cheesy Pete’s Bail Bonds and his assistant Juanita.’

Jasmine PrasasI even voice Mama Titsgun; a drug-addled, STI-ridden, whiskey-voiced, sagging disgrace to humanity. I’m in the midst of a stylistic reworking of the concept as it’s a little out there…to say the least!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I would love to be an animation producer one day. Kinda like Matt Groening, Craig Bartlett and Trey Parker/Matt Stone.
It looks like the greatest job in the world. You get to create a character, give ’em a history, make ’em walk and talk and
send them off on wacky adventures which you get to write. I direct voice acting and edit sound too.

Visit Jasmine’s blog and Tweet her: @Jasmine_Prasad.

All images © Jasmine Prasad. To view the images more clearly, click on them.

Leave a Reply

