Zahin Anwari

Zahin AnwariMeet 15-year-old fashion blogger Zahin Anwari.

Zahin’s style is very much inspired by Old Hollywood and the likes of Elvis Presley and James Dean. ‘The thick, bushy eyebrows, the bouffant hair, the music…’ he says. ‘It inspires me!’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I believe that art comes in every shape and form. Art cannot be defined. It is dynamic. It inspires me mentally and physically.

I dream of becoming a singer. I give it my all when I do. I know how it feels like for your confidence to be taken away, to be bullied and fear of publicity that you can’t even look up to someone in the eyes . Singing made me free. Hence, I am also in support of anti-bullying. It would be great if I could become an inspiration to others, educating people that perfection is never a solution.

What inspires your work? 

I am very inspired by visual images. My eyes seem to feed on beautiful, vintage, retro films and the textures of old photos. I Zahin Anwarireally like the loud works of the legendary Gianni Versace and the structured pieces of Yves Saint Laurent. I duplicate the style of Old Hollywood into my own. Textured and printed, clean and structuredare what I normally gravitate towards.

I also draw inspiration from littlemonsters.com – I am a huge Lady Gaga fan. She has taught me that being different is okay. Hence, looking through what the fans post on the site really boosts my understanding on humanity, and that inspires me to become a better person. They’re art. It really has an impact on theatrical image.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

I have several. I love painting! I entered a local painting competition whereby I painted a portrait of a Geisha. I drew inspiration from society: I find that society needs to be more accepting, more gentle and graceful, and I symbolised it in the Zahin Anwariform of a Geisha. In a way, I felt that it was an indirect self-portrait because I feel that I am an entertainer that inspires society.

I was very intrigued when I saw a pair of Miu Miu glitter sneakers online. I felt that I could make them my own. Hence, I did – all it took was a lot of glue and sparkle, rhinestones and beads, and a lot of patience hence results.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Lady Gaga. I am so thankful for her. I love to sing, and I love art. She made both sides of the spectrum collide: she represents art in many ways, through her ability to communicate via entertainment and her ability to inspire others through her visions. She has the ability to change lives. She taught me to be brave, and be comfortable in my own skin. I really look up to her artistic skills.

Click here to visit Zahin’s blog.

All images © Zahin Anwari. To view the images more clearly, click on them.

Leave a Reply

