Flora Jayne Camacho

FloraMeet 22-year-old artist and illustrator Flora Jayne Camacho.

Flora loves photography, drawing and making art films. ‘And playing the flute,’ she adds. ‘Funnily enough, I just picked up my flute after 13 years. I don’t know why I ever stopped…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently in my third year at Brighton University doing Illustration. I am a self-confessed camera addict, I love vintage camera’s my favorite one in my 1972’s Polaroid camera my grandfather left me.Flora May Camacho

What inspires your work?

My work is gritty and political I concentrate on current affairs that affect us in British society. My main source of inspiration for my work is radio 4 in the morning, I do get frustrated about politics but I express it through my illustration. People inspire me with the the stories they tell and the hardships they have to face in life.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

Flora May CamachoMy favorite piece I have created is of a sweet little weathered old man that told me about his life (it was a real Forest Gump moment). There was a quote he said that really took me back “In the Governments eyes I’m just scum”. So I created this piece because the story was so powerful and moving.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Grayson Perry inspires me with the way he approaches taboos with an open mind and creates the most amazing pieces that do shock at first but when you understand where he is coming from you realize that he is just pointing out what is happening around us.

See more of Flora’s work here, visit her blog It All Seems A Bit Tragic and tweet her: @FloraJayne.

All images © Flora Jayne Camacho. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

