Emma Benyon

Emma BenyonMeet 22-year-old photographer Emma Benyon.

“Outside of photography, my hobbies include walking and playing with my puppy – who is sat on my feet as I write this!” says Emma. “I love to sit by my window and watch the birds and hear their songs. I just love being around nature and exploring its beauty.”

 

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am 22 years old and from the North West of England. Last year I graduated from Blackpool and The Fylde College with a First Class Honours Degree in Wildlife and Environmental Photography which brought together my love of the photographic and the natural world.

Currently I am training to be a photography teacher by undertaking a Professional Certificate in Education. I’ve always had a passion Emma Benyonfor all things creative but I could never draw and so I was drawn to photography. Through my photography I aim to explore my personal memories and experiences, using the camera as an extension of what I see and feel in the natural environment.

What inspires your work?

I am largely inspired by the natural world and mans’ relationship with it and how this has changed over time. The past influences my work a great deal and I often find myself inspired by old photographs and stories. Most of my inspiration comes from my families love for animals. As a little girl my dad would often bring home injured or abandoned animals that he had found.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

My favourite piece of work is an image from my Memoirs of Nature project. This project took a long time to amount to anything. However, this image was the inspiration for the rest of the series. The image itself is made up of many layers, both digital imagery and camera-less photography techniques. This image was the first I produced as a digital layered image bringing together all the images I had produced over the course of the project. This image is really when it felt like the whole project had come together.

Emma BenyonWho is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite creative at the moment is Susan Derges. I discovered her camera-less photography in my final year of my degree whilst creating the project Memoirs of Nature. Her images created by submerging light sensitive paper into water produce creative and inspirational results. My favourite series of work by Susan Derges is Arch. This piece of work really brings together all the techniques and ideas from other projects into four images, showing the four seasons in a innovative way.

See more of Emma’s work here; read her blog, Tales Of A Wildie; and tweet her: @EBenyon.

 

Leave a Reply

