Rach Garry

MeDoingLetterpressSay hello to 21-year-old graphic designer Rach Garry.

Rachel loves bobble hats (“it took me three hours of searching to find my latest one…”) and is a film buff, particularly loving Pixar. “The first Toy Story will always be the best and I love trying to find all the ‘Easter Eggs’ in the films.”

Keep reading to find out more…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am originally from Stockport now based in Carlisle, studying in my final year at the University of Cumbria. I chose this uni as the course is great, it has opened my eyes and helped me progress as a designer. I have just completed a placement in London, which has got me so excited to move there in a few months and leap feet first into the design industry.

I am interested in all areas of design, although my main interests are typography and editorial design. I am a huge fan of letterpress – I Rach Garrythink it’s moving away from being behind a Mac to the freedom of a workshop and getting your hands dirty in the process.

I have a very colourful personality, which I like to reflect throughout my work, always injecting a splash of colour to liven up a design and make it stand out. I like to experiment with type and the way it can work along with pictures on a page. It’s all about the process, something I think looks great at first I often don?t like a few minutes later once I’ve played around with it until I find the perfect layout. That feeling is great!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work that I have done would have to be my personal branding, especially my mailer. This was designed to send out to design agencies to show them a bit about me. I don?t take myself too serious so wanted to make it interesting facts about me. I love bobble hats, yes even in the summer (that?s when they are on sale).

This was a main point of my personal branding. The facts aren’t necessarily design related but I want people to know the real me rather Rach Garrythen just a corporate image.A lot of my work is inspired by the progress of traditional printing in the digital age. This is where my love for letterpress started and has carried on progressing. It gives you a massive sense of adventure and achievement to complete hands on work.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

The work of Alan Kitching is a massive inspiration when looking at letterpress, and I can only wish to get into a studio like that one day as letterpress equipment is rare to come by now. Also Anthony Burrill’s work with typography is a great inspiration.

Visit www.rachgarry.co.uk to see more of Rach’s work and follow her on Twitter: @rachgarry.

All images © Rach Garry. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

