Hannah Warner interview

INSPIRED: Hannah Warner

Ever wondered what it’s like to spend your days making jewellery? We spoke to très cool designer Hannah Warner about her upcoming collection, her tips for breaking into the industry and what it’s like to see Beyonce wearing one of your pieces…

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I wanted to be a traveler. We used to go away to all sorts of amazing places with my family growing up which was incredible from such a young age… I

remember believing that travelling would be a great profession! I now still do travel a lot but have realised I have to work in order to do it!

Has jewellery always been your passion, or did you/do you have other creative outlets too?

I started of as a fine art painter… I was very into it at school for many years and that’s why I decided to go to art school… It wasn’t until I got there for my foundation year that I experimented for a couple of weeks with jewellery making.Then I decided to pursue this and keep painting as a side hobby.

You’ve studied in both NYC and London. What inspired you to study overseas? Would you recommend jewellery-specific courses to budding jewelers?

I knew after college that I wanted to continue some studies/work in a different country. It came down to working in Kabul, doing a further design course in Italy or going to NYC to study gemology and diamonds. I decided to go to do the gemology course that I did in NYC to get out of London for a bit and also explore NYC which is an amazing city – so amazing that I stayed for three years in the end!

I also did a few courses at Holts in Hatton Garden over the years, which I would recommend to anyone.

What inspires your work?

My surroundings whether it be everyday life in the city or nature or culture changes when travelling. Also current fashions are inspiring, as well as different art exhibition for sculptures and painters

What’s been the most exciting moment of your career so far?

Seeing my H&H nails on the catwalk for Thierry Mulger show – and also on Beyonce!

What’s the hardest part about running your own business?

Doing my admin! Fitting everything into one day! It used to be being able to be in so many places at one time… But now I have my amazing friend Lucie helping m; she is really creative too, so we are planning to do a small, cheap jewellery line together.

Who’s your favourite jeweller? Why?

I love Delfina Delettrez. Her pieces are more like works of art… Very surreal!

What advice would you give to budding jewellers?

Explore all the mediums that you can, as jewellery is such a vast subject which can be made from so many materials. Explore your options. Never be afraid to ask for help, advice. Study business!

What are you working on at the moment?

I am collaborating with men’s clothing line A.SAUVAGE on their first, and also my first, men’s jewellery line, which should be available to buy in two weeks. Also, my new collection will be out in October, as well as the new collection for H&H nails, which I do with make-up artist Holly Silius, is also in progress.

Finally – what’s your favourite piece you’ve created from either a new or old collection?

I think I’m in the middle of making it now! so look out for next collection…

Click through our gallery for a closer look at Hannah’s work!

Visit www.hannahwarner.com to find out more Hannah’s work.

Leave a Reply

