Murray Somerville

One Year On: Murray Somerville

We last spoke to zine-maker and all-round illustration-genius Murray Somerville back in February 2012 – but what’s he been up to since then?
What have you been up to since we last spoke to you 18 months ago?

18 months is quite a long time, so I’d like to say I’ve been busy! So a few things I’ve been up to, for starters, me and Jack finished our self-published zine series “Macro Shrub” . I was involved in the Lolcat Exhibishun with Soapbox & Sons, I contributed to Ryan Humphrey & James Harvey Bartkira project and quite amusingly had my work used in the set of the dead kid’s room in ITV’s Broadchurch!

Also me and Daisy Whitewolf have been busy with Dazeray (our illustration dynamic duo) curating and doing murals alongside BellyKids for their Kurt & the Gang exhibition at the KK gallery and Magic Nightmares show at Scawfell studios, amongst other bits and bobs. We also did murals for Unit9 for their Hoxton Window Project in Hoxton Square!

If you could hop in a time machine, go back 18 months and tell yourself one thing, what would it be?

If I could go back in time and tell myself something, I would tell me and daisy to use projectors with all our mural based work. Daisy had the idea to project our designs onto the walls to then trace and paint when we did the kurt & the gang murals, but alas this was after we had spent many a night over a month at netil house trying to painfully paint another mural on the wall. Organisation really does save a lot of painful hours!

What has been your career highlight of the last 18 months?
Career highlights would be curating and exhibiting me and Daisy’s Kurt Cobain/Courtney Love murals at the KK outlet for BellyKids for the “Kurt & the Gang” exhibit. Β Or the Hoxton window project mural we did for Unit9, both murals were really fun and located primarily in Hoxton Square for people to see! Gives a big source of pride when you’re cycling past and you see a giant ice-cream dude looming over you and you know it’s yours!
If you had to pinpoint one piece of wisdom you’ve picked up over the last 18 months, what would it be?

Advice to illustrators who are just starting out – do things that interest you and inspire you above all else! I’ve had an eclectic career since graduating 3 years ago, I’ve had many high moments as well as a lot of tough times, and I’m still not in the stable position that I want to be in.

But I have no regrets as every project I’ve committed to, I’ve done for my love of drawing and creativity, from murals and exhibitions to comics and self-publishing zines and even now I’m working on my first animation (alongside amazing illustrator Jamie Mills, love that guy) and there’s so much more beyond that I want to do! So my advice, do what inspires you and what you love, there’s literally nothing to stop you except for your own determination and resolve, and you’ll be amazed at the things you can achieve!

Finally, sum up the last 18 months in five words…

Insomnia / murals / mackerel / painting / dazeray!

VisitΒ murraysomerville.comΒ and follow Murray on Twitter: @MurrayMongoose.

Leave a Reply

