Four things I’ve learnt from four years of TYC

This weekend has marked the fourth birthday of TYC! (I say ‘weekend’ rather than a specific day as I’m not actually 100% sure what day is TYC’s official birthday. I received a notification from WordPress on Friday and one from Twitter this morning, although I was *convinced* January 11th was the real date…)

So I thought I’d share a few observations I’ve made during my foray into blogging… (And would love to hear yours too, so leave them below!)

rsz_screenshot_2015-01-10_at_173633

#1 There is nothing worse than an un-updated blog

Well there is, obviously, but in the scheme of all things online, you can practically see the tumbleweed blowing across your screen when you look at a seemingly abandoned blog. Which leads me on to #2…

#2 Even if you haven’t updated in a while, it’s not too late!

I’ve had phases where I’ve felt that I simply haven’t had time to update as often as I’d like. Or at all… Whether it’s been because of revision, or work, or simply a lack of willing, there will always be excuses. But no matter how long you’ve left your site for, there’s always time to go back to it at a later date. (Which is way better than simply leaving it decaying until it gets marked as ‘inactive’ by your host.)

#3 Don’t be afraid of making mistakes

Nothing is set in stone; new ideas are exciting and to be worked with, rather than worried about. Online is fluid: if you try something – a new section idea, or a competition, or a newsletter, or whatever – and it doesn’t necessarily garner the reaction you imagined, it doesn’t matter. Either adjust your expectations or head back to the drawing board and come up with another idea!

#4 Be proud of what you’ve achieved!

I’m so proud of TYC. Not because it’s my own project, but because it’s connected me – and you! – to the work of so many amazing creative individuals across the globe. Own your niche. Rock it!

Leave a Reply

