REVIEW + GIVEAWAY: THE MINDFULNESS COLOURING BOOK, BY EMMA FARARONS

I haven’t coloured in since I was at school. What a disappointing thought. I remember when I was younger and used to love colouring in – I’d totally lose myself in the process of creating the perfect picture, as well as heeding the perpetual quest to Stay Within The Lines. (Or, if I was feeling wild, I’d purposefully go out of the lines. #YOLO)

Anyway… So now, as a 20-something-year-old, caught up in an endless whirlwind of life’s daily stresses and pressures and with half-a-dozen to-do lists on the go at any given time, the idea of a colouring book helping me to realign and get my focus fixed-up is rather exciting.

The Mindfulness Colouring Book, created by illustrator Emma Farrarons, promises to ‘soothe your anxiety and eliminate stress’. All you need is some felt tips (or pencils, or crayons… heck, maybe even some watercolours) and you’re good to go: the book features endless pages of patterns and designs, crying out to be coloured in.

2. Mindfulness-Colouring-Book-B-by-Emma-Farrarons

In her introduction, Emma observes: “The act of colouring in – carefully and attentively filling a page with colour, the feel of the pencil in your hand as you meditate on the beauty of the whole illustration – is particularly suited to mindful meditation”. She describes being mindful as ‘paying attention to the present moment, clearing your mind of distractions and focusing on simply being’ – arguably, three skills that I think I last had mastered about five years ago.

Last night I sharpened my old set of colouring pencils – still name-stickered from where I last used them at school, sob – and gave mindful colouring a go. I decided to start with a double-page spread of sleeping foxes, all curled up into little balls and clearly in the midst of some very sweet dreams. Focusing on the colouring – i.e. the here-and-now of what I was doing – was very therapeutic: it was gentle, it was just mine, and, as there no right or wrong, or deadline, or external pressure, it felt very relaxing, too.

The Mindfulness Colouring Book

In a nutshell: a fun return to childhood and a playful, engaging way to embrace mindfulness. Definitely recommend!

The Mindfulness Colouring Book, RRP £7.99, by Emma Farrarons, can be bought here.

WIN! 

Love the sound of this book? Well, good news – we have a copy of The Mindfulness Colouring Book to give away! All you have to do to win is keep your eyes peeled on our Twitter feed, follow us and retweet the relevant tweet(s). A winner will be picked at random on Monday 2 March and notified via Twitter. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

